fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed on the first attempt with 5 ATs + Pearson VUE experience

Passed on the first attempt with 5 ATs + Pearson VUE experience 4 years 7 months ago #18420

• Anshul Agrawal
  • Anshul Agrawal's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello,

Here's a brief summary of my experience and what I learned in the process.

I studied for a total of 3 months. In the first month, I took a prep class (4 Sundays), and that was pretty much it. In the second month, I studied for 3 hours every day. In the third month, I studied for 4 hours every day for 2 weeks and then for the remainder of the month, I took one exam every day (almost). My main source of studying was Rita Mulcahy's PMP Exam Prep. I found the book to be very helpful. I read the book once thoroughly, skimmed it twice, and then referred to it on an as-needed basis. I felt that I could have taken the exam after 2-2.5 months of studying. The key was to read/do something every day. Once I was through the book, I started doing the exams, which is when I found out my weak spots. After every exam, I would review what went wrong and quickly refresh that area.

I found that most mistakes that I was making were more due to the gap in my experience as opposed to academic knowledge. As a result, I started following these rules whenever I got stuck on a question, which helped me a lot:
* PMI wants to know you would address a situation using PMI's principles and not your experience
* How would you address the presentation situation for a large global project (think 100+ team members spread globally, budget in millions, a high-stake project)
* What process is being described in the question? (this was the single most helpful rule that I followed)

Reading materials: