fbpx

Reply: I passed the exam!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : I passed the exam!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
6 years 5 months ago #12366

Jada Garrett

Cynthia, this is great. thank you for sharing your experience. Congrats on passing your exam.
6 years 5 months ago #12354

Cynthia Steiger

's Avatar

I passed the PMP exam a few weeks ago with four “above target” and one “below target” (Closing) scores. I found the exam to be a little easier than I expected based upon the sample test questions from the OSP International’s PMP exam simulator and the books that I used. A welcome surprise!

My application was accepted in early June and I started studying almost immediately. Since I recently retired, I was able to study about four to six hours per day. For the first pass I read through the PMBOK and listened to the PM PrepCast lessons from the beginning through chapter 13. Once I had a sense of the breadth and depth of the material, I developed a study plan using the PMBOK, Rita Mulcahy’s PMP Exam Prep and Head First’s PMP texts.

For the second phase I took it one chapter at a time re-listening to the PM PrepCast lessons and taking notes as well as reading all three books and highlighting important concepts. Once I completed a couple of chapters I would go back and type up notes and create flashcards as needed. This allowed me to review the material a second time. During this phase I listened all the way through all the additional lessons and learned about Andy Crowe’s book, PMP Exam, in one of the auxiliary lessons. I bought it as well and read it once I completed all the other material. I also found some free Kindle books specifically focused on the formulas and worked through OSP International’s Formula Study Guide.