fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: I passed the exam!

I passed the exam! 6 years 5 months ago #12354

• Cynthia Steiger
  • Cynthia Steiger's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I passed the PMP exam a few weeks ago with four “above target” and one “below target” (Closing) scores. I found the exam to be a little easier than I expected based upon the sample test questions from the OSP International’s PMP exam simulator and the books that I used. A welcome surprise!

My application was accepted in early June and I started studying almost immediately. Since I recently retired, I was able to study about four to six hours per day. For the first pass I read through the PMBOK and listened to the PM PrepCast lessons from the beginning through chapter 13. Once I had a sense of the breadth and depth of the material, I developed a study plan using the PMBOK, Rita Mulcahy’s PMP Exam Prep and Head First’s PMP texts.

For the second phase I took it one chapter at a time re-listening to the PM PrepCast lessons and taking notes as well as reading all three books and highlighting important concepts. Once I completed a couple of chapters I would go back and type up notes and create flashcards as needed. This allowed me to review the material a second time. During this phase I listened all the way through all the additional lessons and learned about Andy Crowe’s book, PMP Exam, in one of the auxiliary lessons. I bought it as well and read it once I completed all the other material. I also found some free Kindle books specifically focused on the formulas and worked through OSP International’s Formula Study Guide.