fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP exam, 1st attempt on 2/17/2017

Passed PMP exam, 1st attempt on 2/17/2017 7 years 1 month ago #9864

• Tonja Morgan
  • Tonja Morgan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Technically, my studies were over a few years since I have taken some college level project management related courses. My focused studying really was about 6-8 weeks. Oddly, I studied hard for several weeks and scheduled my date about 3 months out and was planning to study more over a holiday, but I couldn't since I got sick. I considered changing my exam date but decided to keep it. After that, I didn't study for 45 days and decided I probably should do a little studying the week of my exam date. It wasn't like cram studying but more of checking a couple of items.

Initially for my focused studies, I read PMBOK. I did a little bit of highlighting and wrote terms in the margin. and then I began the PMPrepCast. The videos were key for my success. They were a great audio and visual explanation of PMBOK and beyond. I think it was helpful to first read PMBOK and then listen to the videos because it allowed me to focus in on areas that I lacked project experience in or may have just skimmed when reading PMBOK. I liked the PMPrepCast videos over a bootcamp concept because I could go back and listen to specific topics when needed. I did this a few times after missing several questions on a topic. The expert interviews at the end also provided some great real life applications of skills and tools that I already have incorporated into my professional work.