fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP exam, 1st attempt on 2/17/2017

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP exam, 1st attempt on 2/17/2017

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
7 years 2 months ago #9889

Venkata Surya Sagi

Congratulations!!
Thanks for your feedback. Looking forward to use some these tips in my preparation.

Regards,
Venkata
7 years 2 months ago #9864

Tonja Morgan

Technically, my studies were over a few years since I have taken some college level project management related courses. My focused studying really was about 6-8 weeks. Oddly, I studied hard for several weeks and scheduled my date about 3 months out and was planning to study more over a holiday, but I couldn't since I got sick. I considered changing my exam date but decided to keep it. After that, I didn't study for 45 days and decided I probably should do a little studying the week of my exam date. It wasn't like cram studying but more of checking a couple of items.

Initially for my focused studies, I read PMBOK. I did a little bit of highlighting and wrote terms in the margin. and then I began the PMPrepCast. The videos were key for my success. They were a great audio and visual explanation of PMBOK and beyond. I think it was helpful to first read PMBOK and then listen to the videos because it allowed me to focus in on areas that I lacked project experience in or may have just skimmed when reading PMBOK. I liked the PMPrepCast videos over a bootcamp concept because I could go back and listen to specific topics when needed. I did this a few times after missing several questions on a topic. The expert interviews at the end also provided some great real life applications of skills and tools that I already have incorporated into my professional work.