fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP Exam on January 7, 2016 1st Try, 3 month prep

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP Exam on January 7, 2016 1st Try, 3 month prep

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
8 years 3 months ago #6819

Michelle Proctor

I passed the PMP Exam! I was so relieved to see PASSED at the end of the exam and survey. Even though I felt like I had done a thorough preparation, I have heard that many people have failed. This is a hard test. It's hard because you HAVE to study.

My Timeline & Approach
I purchased The PM Prepcast Thanksgiving week 2015 and took the exam on January 7 before it changed. I took a week off at Christmas. Otherwise, I studied 3-4 hours per day (including webinars). I watched all 35 hours of webinars first in order to complete my application reqs. The sample questions at the end of each webinar were helpful, but if I had it to do over, I would use the Simulator Quizzes after each of the webinar process groups were finished. Compressing your study schedule is more painful, but I feel that you retain the material better and are in better "testing shape" than if you spread it out over a year.

After completing the 35 hours of webinars, I moved on to the Simulator. I took two 50 question quizzes (Random) to gauge where I was; I scored 68% on both. At this point, I hadn't ready any of the PMBOK Guide. So, I read the PMBOK Chapter on each of the Process Groups and then took a 25 or 50 question quiz on each process group. I studied each incorrect answer to reduce mistakes. This was a very effective strategy. I answered 350 quiz questions before taking my first full 200 question exam. I took 3 full practice exams, scoring 83.5, 84.5, 85%, scoring Proficient in 1 or 2 groups and Moderately Proficient in 3-4 groups.

Materials Used
PMBOK Guide 5th edition & The PM Prepcast & Exam Simulator