fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: PMP Passed on 2nd try !!! 4th Edition !!!

PMP Passed on 2nd try !!! 4th Edition !!! 10 years 8 months ago #3662

• Paul Govia
  • Paul Govia's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi All, I just wanted to let you know that I finally passed 4th edition within a few days of it changing to version 5.

Studying started in March (every free time possible). It does help to take a break and do something outside of studying - to break the monotony.

1. PMBOK Vol. 4
2. PM PrepCast - Webinars
3. PM Study Prep - Rita Mulcahy
4. PMP Exam Prep Questions, Answers, & Explanations: 1000+ PMP Practice Questions with Detailed Solutions (note: this book had grammatical errors but did give detail explanations).

I studied Rita's book simultaneously with PMBOK (note: this book is dry reading but a fellow PMP colleague did mention that you must get beyond that for the "juice"). PMBOK contains information that was not covered elsewhere but did appear in tests (simulation/actual). On my drive in to work (about an hour each way), I listened (and re-listened) to the PM PrepCast topics. I also took a number of simulation tests - definitely helps when you pressure yourself by timing your tests. Time creeps away from you during the exams - figure 1.2 minutes per question !!!! Some questions you will breeze through, others can be time consuming.

I took my first test on May 20 but the week before, I dropped/broke my phone (no prepcast), wife got cut/stitches and found out my mom had cancer and was scheduled for surgery the day after the test. On hindsight, I should have rescheduled. The test result did tell me that I was not as proficient within the Executing / Monitor & Controlling sections.