fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Lessons Learned after Passing the PMP exam

Lessons Learned after Passing the PMP exam 13 years 3 months ago #1777

• Kimberly Bortz
  • Kimberly Bortz's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
How I studied

The company I work for normally offers a 1 week prep course - but it was not offered in my area and there was no budget to travel. So I had to study on my own.

I purchased the Rita Mulcahy PMP Exam Prep first thing, and also dowloaded the PMBOK to my Kindle so that I could read it anywhere. I liked the structure of the Rita book - as well as the study tips, practice exams, questions and memory games. I didn't like feeling I was being talk down to as an inexperience PM - but I suppose that even this was a good wake up call that I couldn't think in terms of what I do - but in terms of what the PMBOK would do.

I read the PMBOK once - although most advise to read it twice. I would lose focus and figured my time would be better spent reading and listening to material that was a little less dry. In order to get through the PMBOK, I joined a study group at work that reviewed a chapter a week and took practice exams on the material. I would follow this up by reading the coresponding chapter in the Rita book.

Four weeks before my schedule exam date, I focused on practice exams. I aimed for an 85% average. I scored well on short exams and not so well (67%-76%) on the longer exams. My problem was mainly not taking my time, not reading the question, second guessing myself and not using reason and logic to get through the difficult questions. Forcing myself to slow down helped alot. Memorizing the Knowledge Areas and Process Groups also helped me to get more of the questions correct.