fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed!

Passed! 3 years 3 months ago #25997

• Advice, including use PrepCast!
  • Advice, including use PrepCast!'s Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I'm not going to lie, the test was REALLY hard and I studied for over 5 months. I did a lot of research on study tools and here is the process I used:

- I went through all of the PrepCast videos, which were terrific and entertaining (for such a dry topic!).
- In parallel, I read the PMBOK Guide.
- Again in parallel, I read David Crowe's PMP Exam -- How to Pass on your First Try. It was a good foundation, with very difficult practice questions (harder than on the test). In my opinion, through, Crowe's book does not have enough info to pass the exam. Not a criticism per se, I just don't think one book will give you everything you need.
- Using the above sources (as well as some other online references, including Edward Chung), I wrote up my own 35-page study guide describing in a fair amount of detail the 49 process groups by knowledge area. I am more than happy to send it to you to use as a basis for your own customized study guide (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).
- I used an INVALUABLE free online tool that I referred to constantly: the PMBOK Process Explorer, www.acethepmpexam.com/ppe/index.html . I found it just by chance and I'm not sure why I haven't read about it anywhere.