fbpx

Reply: Passed!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
3 years 3 months ago #26028

Elizabeth Harrin

Congratulations! Thanks for sharing your tips.
3 years 3 months ago #25997

Advice, including use PrepCast!

's Avatar

I'm not going to lie, the test was REALLY hard and I studied for over 5 months. I did a lot of research on study tools and here is the process I used:

- I went through all of the PrepCast videos, which were terrific and entertaining (for such a dry topic!).
- In parallel, I read the PMBOK Guide.
- Again in parallel, I read David Crowe's PMP Exam -- How to Pass on your First Try. It was a good foundation, with very difficult practice questions (harder than on the test). In my opinion, through, Crowe's book does not have enough info to pass the exam. Not a criticism per se, I just don't think one book will give you everything you need.
- Using the above sources (as well as some other online references, including Edward Chung), I wrote up my own 35-page study guide describing in a fair amount of detail the 49 process groups by knowledge area. I am more than happy to send it to you to use as a basis for your own customized study guide (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).
- I used an INVALUABLE free online tool that I referred to constantly: the PMBOK Process Explorer, www.acethepmpexam.com/ppe/index.html . I found it just by chance and I'm not sure why I haven't read about it anywhere.