fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Failed PMP twice ! Next exam scheduled for next week

Failed PMP twice ! Next exam scheduled for next week 5 years 7 months ago #15019

• Jacob V
  • Jacob V's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I studied the PMBOK guide very well this time, and I failed the PMP on 7 September 2018. However, I didn't take a single simulation test and also didn't review the marked questions- Reckon this led to my failure?
My grades (for the 2nd test) were as follows:
a. Initiating- Needs Improvement
b. Planning- Below Target
c. Execution- Target
d. M&C- Target
e. Closing- Below Target

What shocked me was the proficiency score for Initiating and Closing as I knew everything well in relation to these topics (all ITTOs/concepts).

Please advise the way forward as I'm at the point of a disaster now.

Failed PMP twice ! Next exam scheduled for next week 5 years 7 months ago #15025

• Joe Pang
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 99
Hi Jacob,

From what I gathered in your post, there are quite a number of red flags in your study plan. First of all, is it possible to reschedule your next exam to a later date, so you will have more time to study? Do remember that after the 3rd exam attempt, you will have to re-apply again. Also it will take away a lot of your stress.

You mentioned you have a good grasp of the PMBOK guide, but I think there is still room for improvement in that regard. Try getting other types of study materials (PrepCast, Rita Exam Prep, PMI Exam Content Outline, Udemy courses, local PMP workshops) to reinforce your understanding of the concepts.

Practice exams are very important for your exam success, most of the success stories I gathered have at least done 6-8 exams before walking into the exam hall. My advise is do a lot of these mock tests, try a variety of different mock exam providers too.