fbpx

Reply: How relevant is PMP today for heavy/manufacturing industries?

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : How relevant is PMP today for heavy/manufacturing industries?

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
2 years 6 months ago #28188

Harry Elston

Avnish,

The concepts behind the PMP are more-or-less applicable to all projects. The individual methods - broken into two camps, Agile and Waterfall - incorporate all the concepts however they are executed differently.

I have said it before on the boards: I am not, per se, a "project manager" in that I don't do that as a profession. However, as a consultant, I must manage projects professionally. From that perspective, that is where I have found the highest value of the PMP certification. Studying for the PMP exam opened my eyes on how to better serve my clients in the projects that I execute for them.

So, I think it's very relevant, regardless of the method of project management used.

My 2-cents.

Harry
2 years 6 months ago #28187

Kyle Kilbride, PMP

I would say that the fundamentals translate very well to manufacturing and/or construction heavy environments. You are correct that we are seeing more focus on agile, but I view this as being a complement to existing waterfall methodologies. For instance, I typically employ some agile strategies early on in my projects (I work in a construction environment in oil refining) to help align on scope / alternatives selection. Then later stages of the project would take more of a traditional waterfall approach. The more tools you have in your toolbelt the more you'll be able to adapt a unique approach specific to your project and add value. I would say the PMP is still very useful and relevant in this regard.

Kyle
2 years 6 months ago #28186

Avnish Thakkar

's Avatar