fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: PMP exam is such a joke and a total nonsense comparing to a real life PM

PMP exam is such a joke and a total nonsense comparing to a real life PM 3 years 6 months ago #23963

• RaidanZ
  • RaidanZ's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I am a project manager for 10 years,
and I have been studying PMP for about a year,
the more I study, and the more I am lost with the PMI concept and the real life project management in my company.

Why you have to study for a test, and memorize all the make up words from PMI (none of those words will be using in real life project management).
Many have said that you don't have to memorize too many words, but just need to understand the meaning of the words, and it's a joke,
because in the exam, they will test you the meaning of the words in a so called scenario question.

and
Why they have to make so many different words for a same topic:
project scope, business case, project requirement, project charter
Don't tell me how they are all different in PMI point of view!
Because they are all the same in real life.

PMP exam is such a joke and a total nonsense comparing to a real life PM 3 years 6 months ago #23968

• Harry Elston
  • Thank you received: 144
Raidan:

"Project Management" as defined by ANSI/PMI 99-001 was created in response to US Federal Government desire to standardize project management. The US Government, perhaps the largest project-based employer in the world, wanted companies who do project-based business with the Federal Government held to a single standard. As such, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) in conjunction with PMI created a the industry consensus standard, ANSI 99-001 "Standard for Project Management."