Due to an influx of spam in our forums we have disabled posting for guests. Guests can still read the forum, but you have to login in order to start or participate in a discussion.
Welcome, Guest

TOPIC: Q:New PDU Categories means less PDU opportunities?

Q:New PDU Categories means less PDU opportunities? 3 years 10 months ago #3282

  • Anne Booc
  • Anne Booc's Avatar
In March of 2011 PMI is changing the PDU Categories. I read that there are now just 6 categories. What are these 6 categories and because there are 18 categories today, does this mean there are 3 times fewer PDU opportunities for me?


Here are the new PDU Categories that PMI will be using starting March 1st, 2011:

Education PDU Categories:
  • Category A: Courses offered by PMI R.E.P.s or Chapters and Communities
  • Category B: Continuing Education
  • Category C: Self-Directed Learning

Giving Back to the Profession PDU Categories:
  • Category D: Creating new Project Management Knowledge
  • Category E: Volunteer Service
  • Category F: Working as a Professional in Project Management

Even though PMI has reduced the number of categories/sub-categories from 18 down to 6, that doesn't mean that you have fewer opportunities to earn PDUs. When you compare the old to the new, you'll notice that all the current activities that will earn you PDUs are still allowed under the new categories. In fact, some new PDU activities have been added to the list (i.e. speaking as a guest in a podcast).

The reduction from 18 down to just 6 categories means that it is now easier for us to remember how we can earn PDUs and it is easier for us to report them. But there are certainly no fewer opportunities for us to earn PDUs.

We'll go more in detail of these categories in the coming weeks.
Last Edit: 3 years 10 months ago by Anne Booc.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Moderators: Yolanda Mabutas, Michael DeCicco, Mary Kathrine Padua, Lazard Toe, ITBMC, MPM, CIPM, PMP, ITIL, Christian Winter, Kevin Nason, Michael Sumaquial, PMP

Training for Project Management Professional (PMP)®, PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®, and Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®