fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP on the first try- Comparison on the 200 PMI Mock questions & tips

Passed PMP on the first try- Comparison on the 200 PMI Mock questions & tips 3 years 9 months ago #22365

• Rania Rustom
  • Rania Rustom's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi everyone!

I wanted to share my lesson learnt and journey having passed the PMP on the first try.

I studied for a time period of 3 months, having read the PMBOK once only. I did find the PMBOK very dry therefore my main book that I studied from was Rita's Exam Prep, which I highly recommend as she really does provide some great tips and general summary of what needs to be covered in all areas.

Ricardo Vargas video on youtube was a great reference and understanding, which made everything make sense.

In terms of the prep cast simulator, I absolutely recommend everyone who's sitting for the PMP to purchase it as the questions were the most similar that I found to the real exam. The real exam definitely is more vague but if you practice the exams and go through your wrong answers it becomes very valuable. I was scoring between 70-80% in the 6 exam simulators that I took.

An important reference is the actual PMI Mock exam which I completed 3 days prior to my exam date, I only completed it once and scored 68% which I felt was kind of a surprise, however I went in with high confidence in the exam and scored the following: 2 Above Target, 2 Target, 1 Needs improvement (which was in the closing process group). I only found out about the PMI Mock exam on the same week that I was taking the exam but it helped me to mentally understand the vagueness of the questions that I would expect in the real exam.