fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed on First Attempt - AT/AT/AT/AT/AT - 7/6/19

Passed on First Attempt - AT/AT/AT/AT/AT - 7/6/19 4 years 9 months ago #17901

• Laputan Machine
  • Laputan Machine's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I took, and passed, my PMP Exam today, first attempt, earning Above Target in all core areas. Despite not using the PM PrepCast's simulator, I did regularly reference this forum, so I hope posting here is ok.

Here's a summary of how I studied and what I experienced on the test. (As much as I can say without violating the confidentiality clause, that is!)

I decided to go in for the PMP back in early April, and committed to a three month study period and locked in the exam for July 6th. From there, I did a few days' worth of research, and built a study plan that would work around my very busy (and regularly mentally exhausting) 40-45hr/wk job. To start, I signed up for / bought / used the following:

* BrainBOK 3mo Subscription (quizzes, practice exams, flash cards, etc)
* Rita's PMP Book

The first week was dedicated to skimming the PMBOK, and I took a 'cold' practice exam (via BrainBOK) that first weekend. I got a passing score in the low 60s. From there, I took two weeks to read Rita's book end to end while taking notes. Took another BrainBOK exam and got.. a 62%. This frustrated me quite a bit (a point I'll touch on later), but I kept going. The next few weeks involved doing targeted readings, quizzes, and practice exams (every other weekend), until I finally got so fed up with BrainBOK's (in my opinion) absurd 'Oh, the answer you picked was 75% right, but the answer we were looking for was actually the one that was 76% right'-type questions, that I bought the PM Master Prep exam / quiz access, and started using that.