fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP today on first try - THANK YOU!!!

Passed PMP today on first try - THANK YOU!!! 4 years 11 months ago #17351

• Y L
  • Y L's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I passed my PMP exam today after about 5 weeks of studying; AT overall - 4ATs and 1 NI for Initiation

Background
I have several years of experience managing projects, with the last few managing larger, more complex projects. I previously did 3 project management courses (used these PDUs for PMP exam) towards a Certificate in Project Management. The courses helped us to apply PMBOK in different work situations and really helped me with my PMP exam prep because the concepts felt more relatable. Nevertheless, given all that I know about the PMP exam, I was nervous about taking on this challenge.

My study plan
Submitted application end of March 2019.
Studied Rita Mulcahy's book ("PMP Exam Prep"), skimmed PMBOK
I didn't memorize ITTOs but knew the context
As I work full-time with a young family, I had to squeeze in my studying whenever I can. Thank you so much to my tolerant children and supportive partner. It took me about 3 weeks to finish Rita's book and then I started answering the questions at the end of each chapter. I was averaging 69% to 80%. Most were in the low 70s. I also took some free mock exams online. I tried the free Exam Simulator and had 65% for each test. I then subscribed to the Exam Simulator and took a test (81%). At that point, I decided I need to commit, otherwise, I will lose momentum. I booked the exam 2 weeks ahead. Then I foccused on my weak areas, mostly reviewing Rita's book with support from PMBOK. Took 2 more full tests and lots of 10 - 100 exam questions. I started from 70s to getting over 80% before my exam.