fbpx

Reply: I passed!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : I passed!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
6 years 5 months ago #12220

Stan Po - Admin

Dear Jessica,

Congratulations on passing your exam!

Thank you for sharing your success and lessons learned. We are glad to hear that our products helped you prepare for and pass your exam.

Good luck in all your future endeavors.
6 years 5 months ago #12219

Jessica Barnier

I took the PMP exam on October 14th and passed with flying colors! :)

I studied for approximately 3 months. I created a schedule of when to study and what I was going to study when. Preparing for the PMP exam is a project in and of itself. I studied for approximately 2-3 hours per day. I had a vacation during this time as well, so I did take breaks for already scheduled vacation times. This time allowed me to relax and absorb the material better.

As I got closer to the exam date, I started studying more and more. I increased my study time to about 3-4 hours per day. I also schedule times for taking practice exams. I am a more visual person, so I did several things to make the material stick better:
  • Read the PMBOK Guide once for a general understanding- as you may know, this is a very, very dry read. it is nice to go through it at least once to get an understanding of what material will be covered on the exam and know where to go for clarification.
  • Listened to the PM PrepCast while working or on my commute. I listened to the PrepCast once and went back to list to areas that I needed more practice in a second time. I also took notes from the PrepCast and reviewed these notes the day before my exam.
  • Read the Head First PMP- this book was very interactive and helped me understand the content in the PMBOK guide in a more visual way with games and scenarios