fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP exam first try - 14th November 2016

Passed PMP exam first try - 14th November 2016 7 years 5 months ago #8861

• Alison Smith
  • Alison Smith's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 4
I passed my PMP exam 14th November 2016 (London prometric center)
4MP’s and 1P in executing
At this moment I do not know if I am more relieved of passing or that my intense studying is over !

*STUDYING
I started studying around July and aimed for 1.5 hours weekdays and several hours at the weekend.
For my study book, as well as the PMBOK I purchased: PMP exam simplified (updated January 2016) by Aileen Ellis. I looked at reviews and descriptions of a number of books and this sounded like it suited me the best, over and above Rita’s book (for info Aileen is a R.E.P of PMI)
What I liked about Aileens book :
It is arranged by process group - in contrast to the PMBOK which is arranged by knowledge area
There are ~ 1000 sample questions (and solutions) in the book. Questions after each process and additional review questions at the end of each process group. Also plenty of “Exam tips”
I did not use the full 200 question sample test at the end of the book

I also purchased 3 additional books of Aileens – each with 50 sample questions + solutions
1. How to get every contract calculation question right on the PMP exam
2. How to get every Earned Value question right on the PMP exam
3. How to get every Network diagram question right on the PMP exam
These all helped me understand the concepts. However based on MY test experience I would only recommend someone purchase the Network diagram book

I have to admit to skimming over the PMBOK twice – I did try and read it all, but as many people have commented it is sooo dry to read.