fbpx

Reply: Passed Exam!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed Exam!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
7 years 5 months ago #8605

Mark Wuenscher, PMP

Steve,

Congrats on passing the PMP exam and thank you for sharing your experience and lessons learned.

Cheers,

Mark
7 years 5 months ago #8604

Steve Heckman

's Avatar

I am a manufacturing engineer/manager at a small contract manufacturer, and focus primarily on product development projects. Each project had a ME assigned to be the project lead, and we are responsible for keep the project on track, updating all stakeholders, and closing (beside being the technical lead).

One of my coworkers went to HR in January about taking the local PMP prep course, and they decided that four of us could go. So, starting in February we took the class. Our "textbooks included both the PMBOK and Rita Mulcahy’s “PMP Exam Prep” (read the chapters that we covered for each week). When it ended in April, our instructor continued with another 5 week refresher class (two classmates took the exam and passed in July). During the refresher I went ahead and submitted the PMI application, which was approved.

After the class I took all my notes from class & my highlights from Rita's book and created my own study guide, much like Edward Chung's (and at 80 pages, it was just as long!)

Because I was moving and prepping a house for sale in June/July, I decided to sit through the class again (the instructor encouraged "recycles"). At that point I made sure each week that I completed the appropriate quiz in Rita's book.