fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP August 29 2016

Passed PMP August 29 2016 7 years 7 months ago #8264

• Bob Williams
  • Bob Williams's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 2
My PMP Certification process

I have to say that I thought this process would really not be that difficult. I mean I had been doing project management for many years and I knew the process. Boy was I mistaken! I have been in the IT field for over 35 years and this is by far the most difficult learning process I have ever faced.

The sheer volume of information that must be consumed to pass the PMP exam is staggering and overwhelming. After struggling for close to a month I realized I needed a plan. The reviews of the many that have been through this process helped considerably and I used there advise.

My first effort was solely spent on reading the PMBOK guide. This was my first mistake. The reading was just way to dry and was just blah…blah…blah. I needed visuals and it needed it to be interactive. I then latched onto the PREPCAST and began watching the videos. This was much better but still I was swimming in the volume of information.

I created a project plan using MS project and built a task list of each item that I needed to concentrate on. I had goals, tasks to complete and I was organized. But still connecting all the dots was just not happening. Then I read a successful exam students story. He talked about table 3-1 and how essential it was to get this table. Not memorize it, but have it make sense. This was the beginning for me. I began to study the table every day until I could walk a project through the entire table step by step. Every project needs to at least consider each processes within a process group within a knowledge area.