fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed exam, my experience and study method

Passed exam, my experience and study method 8 years 4 months ago #6461

• Alastiar
  • Alastiar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I wrote the exam Nov 10th 2015 and passed it first time. I started studying first week of September. There was probably a week or two in the middle where I barely studied. This is what I did.
• Read through Rita’s book - 1 chapter per day took some light notes (2-3 pages per chapter) and did the practice tests and reviewed answers I got wrong. I didn’t really care about the scores. ~ 3-4 hours per day
• Then I studied Kim Heldmans book – very lightly – just read through it to get a different perspective. I felt the questions were harder at the each of each chapter in this book and I preferred Rita’s guide. ~ 1 -2 hours per day
• Then I signed up for the PM precast (the cheapest option with no exam simulator) I read a chapter of the PMBOK guide (integration for example) then watch the corresponding prepcast videos. I took very detailed notes and essentially wrote my own ‘cheat sheets’ I spent 8 hours a day doing this over 2 weeks (I was not working, had nothing else better to do). Yes I read the whole book.
• I submitted my application to PMI, which took 4 days to approve and scheduled myself to write the exam 12 days later (PMI confirmed app on the 29th, I booked the exam for the 10th of november)