fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP First Time - Very Little Memorization!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP First Time - Very Little Memorization!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 5 months ago #4761

John Springer

Once I decided to pursue my PMP certification, I met with a couple of existing PMP's to better understand what was in front of me. Their answers were primarily centered around memorizing material. After studying and passing the exam (first attempt) I found this advice NOT to be true!

I started studying about 90 days out by watching the PM PrepCasts and trying to read the PMBOK guide. I quickly realized that reading the PMBOK was not doing much for me so I focused almost primarily on the PrepCasts. I watched one in the morning, maybe one at lunch and a couple in the evenings (weekends and travel...when I could. It took about six weeks to get through all of the key areas.

After getting through the PrepCasts, I went through and read the PMBOK (taking notes) cover to cover (including the glossary and Code of Conduct) in about two weeks. Then went back and read it a second time, again sharpening (or expanding) my notes. The week before my test, I focused on the notes that I made from the podcasts and from reading the PMBOK.

It is important to take the practice exams along the way. I would also recommend taking a couple of 200 question exams toward the end of your studying. I took one four weeks before the test and another the week prior. It helps you understand the focus needed and prepares your mind and body for what to expect.