fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP - what has worked for me

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP - what has worked for me

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
9 years 11 months ago #4233

Sven Gruendahl

Congratulation Thomas! Great "lessons learned".
Cheers
Sven
9 years 11 months ago #4216

Thomas Jeckelmann

Approach 1
I started studying for the PMP in October 2013 using a computer based training provided by my employer. Besides this computer based training I tried reading the PMBOK guide but I could not read more than a couple of pages before my mind started drifting away. After 20h of studying I came to the conclusion that this method was not going to work out and that is was time to take some corrective action.

Approach 2
I started looking for alternatives and based on the numerous positive comments I found on the internet I purchased the PM PrepCast together with the PM Formula StudyGuide and the PMP Exam Simulator. Watching the PrepCast things started to make sense to me. I watched the PrepCast on my laptop, summarizing the essence of each process on a mind map. This helped my structuring my ideas and forced me to stay attentive. I did not come back to these mind maps too often but drawing them was an important step in getting the big picture. Besides the PrepCast, may mind maps and the PMBOK guide I also had Rita’s book and a spreadsheet with the process areas, process groups, processes, ITTOs that I could filter to quickly find which process produced a specific output as an input to which processes and so on.

Lots of sample tests