fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Studying using PMP Prepcast

Studying using PMP Prepcast 10 years 5 months ago #3823

• Scott Gillard
  • Scott Gillard's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 29
While I am still studying for my exam, I wanted to share something I learned later that I wish I had learned weeks ago with regards to The PM PrepCast.

I first started my studies with only the PMBOK guide. After reading the first chapter several times, I was completely at a loss for retaining the information. Then I focused on going through The PM PrepCast videos and my PMBOK Guide has been sitting on my desk. My thought was I'd re-attempt to read it after the videos.

During the Human Resource section I wanted to review something that was mentioned in the PM PrepCast against the PMBOK guide. Trying to find the topic, I still had the Prepcast running at the same time. I noticed something that, for me, was a light bulb that went off. You can almost follow the PMBOK guide page for page along with the PM PrepCast. There's times Cornelius almost says the sentence verbatim. So, you ask.. "what's the point? I might as well read the PMBOK guide then..."

Specifically, last night I went through the Control Risks module on the Prepcast. It's 6 pages in the PMBOK guide. I could read it in about 15 minutes and most of it would be out of my brain just as fast. Risk Assessment and Risk Audits are a paragraph each in the guide (pg 351). In the PM PrepCast they review them. Then they have a slide that compares the two and gives a better overview of each one so you can easily understand how each one would be used in what type of scenario.