fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Finally - I am a PMP... / Lesson learned...

Finally - I am a PMP... / Lesson learned... 10 years 8 months ago #3628

• Gavin Poulsom
  • Gavin Poulsom's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
OK here is a summary of my arguably lengthy journey that ended up with the PMP certification...

I started studying the PMP syllabus back in October 2011. Initially I went to a 5 day boot-camp and was rather naive about the whole affair, as I was already a registered Prince 2 practitioner, I thought (incorrectly) that the PMP would just be an 'Americanised' extension of the Prince 2 project methodology. How wrong was I?

Cut to the chase I failed the exam first time around. This was a big shock for me and it quickly dawned that the PMP would not be a walk in the park.

Real world constraints aside I adopted the following strategy to pass the PMP exam:

Always had the 'Prepcast' to hand. Especially on longer car journeys (Will I ever get that intro tune out of my head)?
Read Rita's book - although I found this quite patronising. It's good but...
Read 'Head First' PMP book cover to cover - there are a few errata in this so be careful. I would consider this a good 'holiday read'...
Read the PMBok several times - It still has the capability to pack a few surprises.

**Don't over subscribe to alternative 'pass your PMP' exam tools such as are available on Itunes / Iphone - a lot of these just remained dormant on the phone. For me - The most utilised and best value for money was the PMP Exam trainer by DynamicApps GmbH - again this had a huge database of questions and they were close to the real world versions / it tracked your progress.

Then for the final exam:
I booked the exam 6 months in advance - Then...