fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed the PMP Exam on my first try

Passed the PMP Exam on my first try 12 years 6 months ago #2453

• Jan Hyatt
  • Jan Hyatt's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi everyone! I'm happy to say that I passed the PMP exam on my first try Friday! The preparation process turned out to be quite a bit more difficult than I had anticipated, so hopefully I can share what I learned and help you out as you get ready.

I am an independent PM consultant and finished a year-long project in early June. I'd been wanting to get the PMP certification for several years, but never felt I had time to do so, so I decided to take off some time this summer to prepare. I had been told by a colleague about Andy Crowe's book "Pass the PMP exam on your first try", so I decided to order that book. After looking at it, I realized that my knowledge of the actual terms used in the PMBOK guide was not up to date, so I decided to take an online course too. I signed up for the PMPrepcast in June. Around the same time, I sent my application to PMI and joined PMI.

The PMPrepcast was grueling! I started out by trying to do several lessons each day and take the daily exams, but wasn't scoring that well, so I slowed down and did about two lessons a day. Each day I read the Andy Crowe chapter related to the online lessons, and did the quizzes in the book. Once I finished I took the prepcast test (and passed) and then took the book exam. I also signed up for Insite (comes with the book) and took those exams. I took several other online exams - when I started I was scoring about 70%, eventually was scoring around 85% on them.