fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP Exam on August 8, 2011!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP Exam on August 8, 2011!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
12 years 7 months ago #2378

John Gagnon

Well at least SOMETHING good has happened on this date!

I scheduled my exam for 9AM on a Monday following a capstone 4-day PMP Bootcamp instructor-led course the previous week's Monday-Friday. This gave me Friday-Sunday to review. I studied for this exam over eight months. Now before you say I'm crazy this was in addition to a full-time hospital IT job and completing a B.S. degree in Health Care Administration. I needed to remain sane while I fit my PM exam studies into my schedule.

I utilized several study aids, of course PM-Prepcast was my first purchase along with a PMBoK guide back in December 2010. I also purchased Rita Mulcahy's exam-prep book in text and audio format, Rita's audio version flashcards and her exam simulation software. The PMP boot-camp was the insurance before my exam. I purchased everything except the boot-camp which my employer graciously covered.

With my limited study time I discovered that my 30-45 minute commute was an ideal time to utilize. That's the reason I purchased PM-PrepCast and Rita's audio versions. They allowed me to effectively learn and study for nearly 90-minutes each workday, in addition to lunches, etc. I supplemented my audio studies with reading my text materials.