fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: My Exam Experience & Lessons Learned

My Exam Experience & Lessons Learned 13 years 1 month ago #1913

• Sanil Neelakantan
  • Sanil Neelakantan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Lessons Learned (submitted by Sanil Neelakantan)

I passed the exam recently and received the coveted PMP® certification. I am both happy and proud to have those three letters behind my name now. Described below are my approach, the material I referred and what I underwent on my exam day.

My Approach & Material Referred

I started studying about 3 months ago and made rapid progress in reading and digesting the concepts, methodologies and theories. I have a total work experience of 14 years, which includes more than 6 years in project management role. I had the advantage of hands on experience in almost all the processes and knowledge areas. This aided me a lot in making rapid progress in the preparation. During studying whenever I read about a process or environment, I could relate and visualize the situation as most often I had “been there” in such or very similar situations.

I set aside 4+ hours for studies every day during these 3 months of preparation. No parties, no movies, or no picnic – literally. I owe a lot to my family for their cooperation and support. First of all, I started with the PMBOK and after reading each chapter I referred Rita’s guide for the corresponding chapter. In parallel, I was diligently following Cornelius’ course which definitely help me digest and cement the concepts in my mind.