fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed on my First Try! :)

Passed on my First Try! :) 13 years 9 months ago #1578

• Happy Camper
  • Happy Camper's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Well, I passed the PMP last week on my first try! I was elated and I must say, I'm still basking a little bit in the after effect.

I studied for 2 months (basically an hour / two after work and additional study on the weekends), I used the PrepCast, Rita and the PMBOK. I think one of the things I did "wrong" was that I jumped around a bit too much, mostly when I'd get intimidated I'd jump to another resource, if I were studying again I'd assemble all of my resources, read the PMBOK, listen to Cornelius and then read the supplementary guide of choice for each chapter. Then after that series I'd go back and re-read chapters / concepts that were fuzzy. I found the PMBOK much more readable (even enjoyable?) on the second read through. At this point I was pretty comfortable in the material and all that bogged me down previously clicked.

As a vote for the PrepCast, one wonderful thing about it is that Cornelius makes you believe that you will succeed. This is a nice contrast and a really good reality check, particularly if you are using other good, but more negative resources. I also enjoyed his unique technique for repeating important concepts. This was pretty smart!

Specifically, for my studies:
- I went through the PMBOK just over 2 times,
- Read Rita's PMPPrep 1.5 times and
- Listened to the PrepCast