fbpx

Reply: Been managing projects for 40 years - this exam was a shock, but I passed!

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Been managing projects for 40 years - this exam was a shock, but I passed!

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
2 years 11 months ago #27094

Stan Po - Admin

Robert,

Congratulations on passing your exam! Your journey seems to be long, with some obstacles, but eventually very successful.

Thank you for sharing your success and lessons learned. We are glad to hear that our products helped you prepare for and pass your exam.

Good luck in all your future endeavors.
2 years 11 months ago #27061

John Bickel

Congratulations!
2 years 11 months ago #27060

Robert Grantham

I graduated from university 42 years ago with an engineering degree and have been managing industrial projects almost continuously since. I first joined PMI in 1992 and studied the PMBOK Guide at that time. But I left that employer and could not take the printed Guide, so was not able to take the exam . Last year as I am getting near retirement age I decided to close out my project management career by finally getting certified... better late than never. I erroneously thought that if I paid my membership fee and presented all my years of experience I would get the PMP certification without having to do the exam. Oooops, mistake!
I had a year to do the exam, but I procrastinad more than 10 months. With the deadline looming in six weeks I quickly searched ads and reviews for a good exam simulator, chancing upon the PMP PrepCast PMP Exam Simulator 2021 and purchased it without delay. My strategy was "crash, burn and learn" so I allocated 3 weeks to study the PMBOK Guide (no other material, such as Agile) and to practice in the simulator, leaving 3 weeks to do the exam 3 times, once per week to run out the clock. So I scheduled the first on-line Certification Exam accordingly and started studying and practicing.