fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Here are my lessons learned

Here are my lessons learned 3 years 5 months ago #23930

• PASSED first attempt - Above target
  • PASSED first attempt - Above target's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I wrote my exam on Oct 13, 2020 - online. Passed with above target in all areas. Happy to share 1) study plan 2) lessons learned

1. STUDY PLAN
It took me about 3 months of study (plus the 35 hour required course) to go over materials, fill knowledge gaps and do enough practice tests to feel prepared. Altogether, it was around 120 hours of study (plus 35 hours of required course). On average, I studied about 2 hours a day, sometimes more on the weekends. I took a day off here and there to relax though.
I created a study plan on excel and did my best to stick to it. It helped to keep track of my progress going over the materials (more about it on lessons learned)
I used Rita's book first and I have to say, it was my main study tool. I liked how she logically describes processes and use of tools. She might sound condesecnding at times, but I have to say her advice and "Tricks of the Trade" were very helpful. Highly recommend to go over the exercises in the book - don't limit to passively read the info.
After Rita, I went over the PMBOK in detail - especially the areas I scored below 65% in my practice tests. Once I felt comfortable with the general content, I went deeper and focused on tools and on PMBOK diagrams that have the flow of information from one knowledge area to others. Lastly, I made flashcards for the areas I found I needed to learn more about: Quality (has many unique tools) and Risk.
I also got Andy's book, but to be honest, I didn't find it helpful at all.