fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP - Here's what I learned

Passed PMP - Here's what I learned 3 years 6 months ago #23903

• Cristian Sirbu
  • Cristian Sirbu's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 6
I passed the PMP exam on Sunday 10/11.
I started to study last year in December, preparing initially for CAPM exam. I passed the CAPM on July 25th. With all the materials fresh in my mind, I went for the PMP right after.
The way I studied might not apply for some of you. I'd rather memorize 50 formulas than reading 5 pages of text. I started by reading the PMBOK guide and it was a nightmare. I fell asleep all the times I tried. The reason I didn't like that book was that it's written in a "too professional" way. Instead of "how much you got, compared to what you planed", you'll find something like: "a measure of the cost efficiency of budgeted resources, expressed as a ratio of earned value to actual cost". Anyway, I tried to read it couple of times, eventually I ended up reading it all but not understanding too much. Then I bought PMP exam prep by Rita, I read it all and I found it easy to read through.
I scheduled both CAPM and PMP exams, right before the Covid showed up. My exams have both been cancelled out. Since I got some extra time, I bought the CAPM exam prep by Rita and read it and again the PMP exam prep.
The books written by Rita are very good and very easy to understand. But their exam simulators are a joke (in my opinion). Only simple questions, a lot of mistakes, repeating over and over again.
Cornelius, you've got the best simulators on market in my opinion. I tried different simulators, but PrepCast is far better than anything else.