fbpx

Reply: Do I Qualify?

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Do I Qualify?

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
3 years 10 months ago #20819

Harry Elston

Andreas

I would try this approach:

If you can shoehorn a part of a project into one of the five groups (Initiating, Planning, etc.) claim it. The challenge is to very briefly summarize each of the five areas for the project in 500 characters or less. (Not words, characters!) You will need obvious abbreviations such as "INIT" and "PLAN" to help you conserve space.

I am an independent consultant, so my resources are "me" and whomever I subcontract to. I never mentioned delegating to myself, I phrased it as "managed _____."

Good luck.

Harry
3 years 10 months ago #20818

Andreas

's Avatar

Hi Harry,
thanks for your reply. That is certainly true. I hope that someone has a similar job or similar experience and would be able to share a bit of insight.

I still don't entirely get what all qualifies as project work and how it can be allocated to the different phases. As mentioned, can I count any of the 100's of hours I spent on working out proposals for complex installations in an industrial manufacturing environment. Or if I delegate tasks to myself. Does the time working on the tasks count as project management. Technically I have to constantly monitor my own doings, since I am responsible for costs, deliverables and deadlines. Does that count than as executing or M&C or a mix thereof. I think at the end, there is a lot of room for interpretation and it needs to be plausible overall.
3 years 10 months ago #20817

Harry Elston

Andreas,

None of us on the Forum can speak for PMI. They seem very consistent when reviewing applications for the exam.

My previous advice remains: The worst thing they can say is "no."

Harry
3 years 10 months ago #20808

Andreas

's Avatar

Hi,
I do have a similar question.