fbpx

Reply: PMP in Non-profit world. Is it worth it? I’m losing hope

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : PMP in Non-profit world. Is it worth it? I’m losing hope

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
4 years 3 months ago #19384

Anonymous

's Avatar

Thanks for the encouragement! It is good to hear from someone in the same field. I am back on track and almost finished the materials (I am using the PMP Prepcast, Rita's book and the PMBOK). I hope to take the exam in March!
4 years 4 months ago #19125

Anonymous

's Avatar

A nonprofit PMP here. Got my certification in 2015 and, honestly, it has transformed my career. I've given some trainings at conferences and found that project management is a really hot topic within the sector. A PMP would make you stand out for sure. Stick with it!
4 years 4 months ago #18961

Harry Elston

Eric,

I will comment only from my personal experiences. As a scientific consultant, I am not a "professional project manager," but I must manage projects professionally. Additionally, I am a "newly-minted" PMP, although I have been interacting with project managers and managing projects for well on 25 years.

First and foremost, "No education of any kind is ever wasted." Make no mistake, studying for and successfully passing the PMP exam is an education in and of itself. As a more technically oriented individual, I found the material and rubric areas of the PMP exam to be extremely challenging. It was a very "right-brained" exam for me and I found the PMI-testing method maddening. It was very much like learning a new language. However, I found in a very short time from the time I started studying for the PMP, I was interacting with other project managers in a different way - I was speaking their language and we were communicating much more precisely and efficiently.