Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Passed PMP on 1st Attempt Today

Passed PMP on 1st Attempt Today 1 month 1 week ago #17969

• Pamela Matalone
  • Pamela Matalone's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I purchased PM Prepcast in October 2018 and started to somewhat study but then the holidays came and I stopped studying.

In March 2019 I told myself to get serious on my studies if I wanted to get my PMP certification. I created my PMP Study plan and diligently followed the study plan. I cannot emphasize the importance of creating a Study Plan and following it. Without one you just kind go all over with your studies and don't really know if you are making progress.

I studied the Rita Mulcahy book along with the PM Prepcast courses. I also used the PMBOK in my studies. I did not study other sources and created my own flashcards. I made sure I understood the Rita Mulcahy process chart as recommended in her book. I took multiple timed quizzes on the PM Prepcast and the quizzes at the end of the Rita Mulcahy book before starting the exam simulations. I took six of the exam simulations and passed all six on my 1st attempt averaging scores in the upper 70's. I took off from work the week prior to my PMP examination so I could focusing on my studies and nothing else. I took one exam simulation each day.

My scores on the official PMP examination are as follows:
Initiating - Above Target
Planning - Above Target
Executing - Target
Monitoring and Controlling - Target
Closing - Above Target

The Pearson VUE does not give you sheets of paper, you get one 8 x 14 laminated sheet to use with a non-permanent marker. I had seen comments in the forums regarding not being able to strike through a wrong answer to narrow your answers. This is not an option at Pearson VUE but did not impact me as I did not use that option on exam simulations.