fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP on First Try :D

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP on First Try :D

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
4 years 9 months ago #17864

Emily Rivera, PMP

Congrats on passing! And thanks for sharing your tips!
4 years 9 months ago #17863

Anonymous

's Avatar

Congratulation Natasha, and good luck to us.

Thank you for sharing us these valued information :)
4 years 9 months ago #17862

Natasha Hoque

Hi All,

I wanted to share the great news that two days ago, I passed the PMP exam on the first try! After a lot of preparation and lurking this forum and reading people's advice, it feels great to be posting this. I also wanted to share what I did to prepare, in case it be of benefit to anyone.

My scores were:
Initiating: Above Target
Planning: Above Target
Executing: Above Target
Monitoring and Controlling: Above Target
Closing: Target

I studied between mid-February till end of June, while working full time, so most of my studying was done on weekends and weeknights.
I read the PMBOK Guide once. Found it extremely technical and couldn't really make the connections between the chapters.
Read Andrew Crow's How to Pass PMP on the First Try - This book really helped consolidate the information and make the right connections. I did the practice exam on the back of the book, twice.
Did the practice exam behind Andrew Ramadayal's book PMP Exam Prep. I can't comment on the book itself because I didn't read it, I just did the exam practice in the back, which was a good practice.
Then bought PM Prep Cast Exam Simulators. Did all of them except for ITTO. 4 of them I did properly, as in, I pretended it was the real exam and made sure to complete within the allotted timing. This really helped me get used to answering the questions quickly. I also made sure I looked over my wrong answers. I also re-did two exams.
I then re-read the PMBOK guide, and this time it all made sense.