fbpx

Reply: Change Control and Configuration Control

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Change Control and Configuration Control

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
5 years 6 months ago #15196

Ty Weston, PMP

Thanks for the post. Was there a specific question you have or are you just making a statement?
I normally try to simplify the definition as this:
Configuration Control- Where you manage changes to product specifications. Like adding an extra feature.
Change Control- Usually where project processes or project baselines are manged. You would have things like schedule, cost items here.
Thanks for posting.
5 years 6 months ago #15194

Daniel Dewart

I was always somewhat confused about the difference between configuration control and change control until I started studying for the PMP exam a few months back. As with many technical endeavors, it is important to be able to speak the accepted “language of the course” in order to minimize confusion and maximize communications between practitioners in the specialty area. I wanted to provide my understanding of the meanings of both terms.

Change Control

Is what controls changes to the established scope, time, and cost baselines of a formal project management plan. These baselines are developed during the planning phase of a project. After the project enters the execution stage, any requested changes that affect the established baselines are reviewed and approved/disapproved by the Change Control Board. Approved changes will almost always trigger changes to other project documents; e.g., risk, resource, quality, procurement, stakeholder and communications planning documents. The Change Control Board reviews, monitors, approves/disapproves, and documents requested changes that affect the operational parameters of the project throughout the life cycle of the project. Changes requests can be submitted by any recognized stakeholder in the project.