Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Review Book - is it a must?

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14104

  • Rhia Laurea
  • Rhia Laurea's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone! Sorry if this question may sound petty. I am starting to review for my PMP exam and just purchased the PM Precast Elite. I am also a member of PMI so I have a copy of the PMBOK 6th edition (downloaded version). Are these sufficient for review and preparation or is a companion book still needed?

I am highly visual and like to make notes (maybe a coping mechanism to remember things more).

Appreciate your thoughts. Thanks in advance

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14105

  • Genevieve Pluviose, PMP
  • Genevieve Pluviose, PMP's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 11
The content is so complex. Different ways to look at it help. If I were you, I would get the additional review book.

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14111

  • Rhia Laurea
  • Rhia Laurea's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Appreciate your response Genevieve. I think I will get one :-)

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14128

  • John Wolverton
  • John Wolverton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 27
The extra book along with flashcards really helped me.
Best Wishes
John F. Wolverton, PMP®

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14134

  • Tracy Shagnea, PMP
  • Tracy Shagnea, PMP's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 41
For what it's worth, the supplemental book I chose was the primary study source for me (I used Rita's book). I NEVER read the PMBOK cover-to-cover. For me, it is mind numbing. I DID use it as a reference frequently to resolve questions and I would skim over it, particularly the process flow diagrams with inputs/outputs.

To jump on John's comment, I used flashcards (loaded on my smart phone) so I could study terms wherever I was and had a few minutes. It DID help me.

Good luck!

Tracy
Forum Moderator
PMP, CSM, M.S. Management
The following user(s) said Thank You: May Moe, Rhia Laurea

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14139

  • Jojo
  • Jojo's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
The single best thing that helped me was the Rita Mulcahy PMP exam prep. It’s easy to understand, for sure. Read that. Don’t read the PMBOK for understanding and context.

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14145

  • May Moe
  • May Moe's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello Tracy,

I am studying for PMP exam by reading PMBOK 6 and learning from PM Prepcast. I'm interested the flashcard application you are using as I'm also looking for that too. Could you tell me the name of the application please? Thank you.

Thanks!

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14157

  • John Wolverton
  • John Wolverton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 27
May
This one: www.project-management-prepcast.com/pmp-exam/the-pm-flashcards
and I made my own from the PMBOK
jfw
John F. Wolverton, PMP®
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rhia Laurea

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14158

  • Genevieve Pluviose, PMP
  • Genevieve Pluviose, PMP's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 11
I must chime in here.

I used the Andy Crowe PMP book which has companion flashcards available. A couple were helpful, but I ended up depending on my home made flashcards the most. I feel those are the best. You craft them as you like.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rhia Laurea
Last edit: by Genevieve Pluviose, PMP.

Review Book - is it a must? 1 year 1 month ago #14160

  • May Moe
  • May Moe's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
@ John and Genevieve Pluviose. Thank you both!

I go and check John's link and it says PM Prepcast flashcard is not available as of now. As both of you replied, I think creating own flash cards will be more suitable for me too. Thanks again.
Moderators: Yolanda MabutasScott GillardMary Kathrine PaduaSteven Mudrinich, PMPCynthia Lim Louis, PMPTracy Shagnea, PMPPatrick Floris PhD PMPJoe PangJason YorekLuke HoSimone ChristieAmy MartinezDaniel DewartEmily Rivera

OSP INTERNATIONAL LLC
OSP INTERNATIONAL LLC
Training for Project Management Professional (PMP)®, PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®, and Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®

Login
21-Jun-2019: Free PMP Exam Coaching Webinar with Dan Ryan Register Now...