fbpx

Reply: questions on PMP requirements

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : questions on PMP requirements

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
5 years 1 month ago #16526

Reshma Umbarje

For part of my experience, I have been a freelance contractor with my own firm incorporated. In organization details for that experience, should I enter Client's organization details or my own firm's organization's details? My firm is a 1 employee firm and isn't as widely known as my multinational client.
5 years 1 month ago #16502

Reshma Umbarje

My Projects were IT projects. But my clients are in Banking industry. Should my primary industry be IT or Finance?
5 years 1 month ago #16501

Reshma Umbarje

Hi Cornelius,

Thank you for your reply. I spoke to Project Managers in my organization. They told me:
1. My role is Consultant and I have taken over PM responsibilities. So even if my official designation is not of a project manager, I can apply for PMP.

In PMP application, in calculating PM hours, I was planning to consider only 50% of my project time as towards leading and directing projects. But count the full non-overlapping month. Will that be a problem? Should I rather consider the same % in hours calculation and month calculation?
5 years 1 month ago #16419

Cornelius Fichtner

Reshma,

Yes. You are 100% correct. The qualification requirements for the PMP Exam are ONLY from the perspective of a project manager. This is because the PMP exam is a certification FOR project managers, who have been leading and directing projects for at least 3 years. If you are not a project manager or have not had the responsibilities of a project manager then you don't qualify to take the exam... :dry: :(
5 years 1 month ago #16418

Reshma Umbarje

Hi,