fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...

TOPIC: Disillusioned

Disillusioned 10 years 6 months ago #3768

• Gary Ince
  • Gary Ince's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Dear Cornelius,
I realize I am old (53) but I have been a project manager for over 30 years in the construction industry. I have taken the PMP exam twice and failed twice. I have invested 120 hours of study for the first attempt and 130 hours for the second attempt. I just cannot get into the-mindset of the PMP and the concept of having two questions correct but one more correct than the other is frustrating especially when neither of the answers really are what happens 'in the field'. All my study material refers to the 'real world' for instance the Rita Mulcahy text books and even the PMP prepcast which are both excellent resources both agree the void between being able to pass the exam and being able to perform as a project manager are poles apart. However, with so much time and experience invested I cannot separate my knowledge and experience from the 'PMP recognized' method of answering questions. I had thought that my practical knowledge and experience would be of benefit in the whole learning process but that has not been the case and I have struggled. I realize that there are students passing this exam every day and my sincere congratulations and admiration go out to them but as long as I live I really do not think I will be able to remember 'parrot fashion' all the inputs, outputs, tools and techniques for each knowledge area that the PMP seem to hold so much importance on, especially now there are over 600 of them in the 5th edition. It has been many years since I took a professional exam and techniques are extremely different these days but I would like to emphasize that throughout my studies I have understood and enjoyed all aspects of the content of the PMBOK. I have already improve