fbpx

Reply: Code of Ethics [E01.09.2]

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Code of Ethics [E01.09.2]

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
11 years 11 months ago #2755

Matthias Klein

Hi everyone,

as I am preparing for my PMP exam, I ran across the latter portion of the Code of Ethics video which asks the question:

"You are brought onto an ongoing project and you see that project status information has not been correctly communicated to the stakeholders. What do you do?"

The correct answer is given as: "You notify the stakeholders and provide the correct information."

I think this sounds great but let me put this into context:

I am a freelance consultant to one of the largest ITK companies in Europe where I am involved in the management of several projects. So let's take a project where I only co-lead a sub-project but not the overall project. And let's further assume that one of the external vendors has told the CTO of that ITK company that they were not able to deliver a perfect product because of mistakes we made in the sub-project that I am involved with.
Naturally, that CTO now wants to know what is going on - so he asks the area manager who asks the department head who asks the team leader who asks the PM of "my" sub-project. All of these people are employees of that ITK company. That PM now asks me to prepare some slides for the CTO. I do and I include the mistakes we made as well as the mistakes the vendor made that led to his poor performance. Facts show, we were responsible for 5%, the vendor contributed the other 95% to the problem.
In other words: my slides prove that the claim of the vendor is pretty much unjustified.