fbpx
Do you need customer support or technical assistance? Click here to submit a support ticket...
  • Page:

TOPIC: How to setup a PMO - Project Management Office?

How to setup a PMO - Project Management Office? 14 years 9 months ago #171

• Laszlo Kremmer MBA, PMP
  • Laszlo Kremmer MBA, PMP's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Dear Cornelius,

Please feel free to delete this message if you find it off-topic. Although I think my question could be interesting for some another PMs.

I have been working as PM for more than 5 years already and mainly working on internal projects like SAP implementation, R&D, BPR etc. On the another hand I am also involved on large projects for our clients like PC desktop rollout etc. I decided just recently to step further and prepare for my PMP exam. I am willing to take the exam mid September this year. I am listening your PMPrepCast on regular bases. Rita's bokk and PMBOK is always under my pillow in my bedroom :-)

Meanwhile I was given another challenging task to set up our PMO ( en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Project_management_office ). I consider it as a project so I started to plan the project. I wonder if you or another PMs have any experience with setting up a PMO? My duty is to standardize the PM framework, documents, procedures etc. which would be used within our firm. There is going to be a big step since three of us would go for the PMP certificate so we "speak the same language" The next step would be that most of our PMs would attend proper classroom PM training so the PMBOK and PM framework would be implemented is our enterprise.

I would be very much interested how you would handle such project? How would you start? Do you have any LLs? Any help would be highly appreciated!

Regards,
Laszlo - Hungary
Attachments:
Last edit: by John Paul Bugarin.
The topic has been locked.

Re:How to setup a PMO - Project Management Office? 14 years 9 months ago #172

• Cornelius Fichtner