fbpx

TOPIC: Q: Earning PDUs In Three Different Ways FOR FREE!

Q: Earning PDUs In Three Different Ways FOR FREE! 10 years 11 months ago #3316

• Anne Booc
  • Anne Booc's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
How many PDU can you claim for a job related to PMO? Its a full time job related to define and improve processes, tools and train Project Managers as well as mentor some of them. And also if I work as a volunteer in the local PMI chapter, how many PDUs can I claim? I can work in the PMI with specific goals or supporting the yearly symposium.

Regards Antonio

Answer:

Hello Antonio,

From your question I can see three areas for which you might think of claiming PDUs. From my point of view two of these are OK but the third one cannot be claimed. Let's begin with the two "green" ones:

1.) Working as a Professional in Project Management (Category F): From your description it is clear that you can claim PDUs in this category. If you work for at least 6 months every year in this position then you can claim 5 PDUs for each year. This means that you can claim a total of 15 free PDUs. Make sure that you have proof of employment and a job description, just in case that PMI decides to audit you.

2.) Volunteer Service (Category E): Every hour that you volunteer in the described position for your local PMI chapter will earn you 1 PDU. Make sure that you get a confirmation letter from your chapter to show that you have indeed provided these services to them.