fbpx

Reply: Passed on first try - LL

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed on first try - LL

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
3 years 9 months ago #21564

Yolanda Mabutas

Hi Walter,

Congratulations and thank you for sharing your PMP journey!
3 years 9 months ago #21514

Walter Sedlbauer

Hi All!
I am proud to share, that I passed the PMP exam yesterday on the first try. Here’s my story:

Application for the PMP exam
Although I’ve more than 10 years’ experience in leading roles for project management in different roles (as head of SW development and project engineering departments in various companies), I never had a training which would count for the 35h project management training for the application.
Hence, my first search on the Internet was to find an online course earning me these hours to be eligible for the application and that’s how I registered for the PM PrepCast from Cornelius Fichter.

Preparation for the PMP exam
I started 3 months earlier to the exam, with the following plan in my mind:
  • March: watch as much PM PrepCast videos as my time allows after 10 hours per day as a project manager at work
  • April: read the PMBOK once or twice
  • May: use the Exam simulator to practice and study especially the wrong answers
As you all know a plan is a plan and reality is a little bit different: watching the videos after work was exhausting, because I easily lost focus – like watching TV. Don’t get me wrong – the videos are excellent and Cornelius is great presenting the slides, but watching all videos is a long journey. Fortunately you can skip some seconds by pressing the right cursor key, but to be honest I did not manage to watch all of the videos.