fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed the PMP First try and above target!

Passed the PMP First try and above target! 5 years 1 month ago #16990

• William Leone
  • William Leone's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I started studying in January in most evenings and some weekends.

Here is some details:

-I did not read the PMBOK
-Read "PMP Exam Prep Simplified" by Andrew Ramdayal. This book was very easy to read. I read it twice and did all questions in the book twice.
-Downloaded the Pocket Prep PMP app on the iphone. I did all 800 questions and then would redo the questions in my free time. The app is a bit slow sometimes, but I think it helped a lot.

I attemped the PM Prepcast simulator after I did all the questions on the iphone and read the book by Andrew once. I scored a 68.5% and then on the second exam I scored 64.5%.
It was at that point I realized I needed to study more. I reread Andrew's book and did the questions again. The second time I read the book everything was starting to make a lot more sense.
So I wanted to try the exam simulator again. I got a 74% on test 4, 75.5% on test 5, 73% on test 6 and a 70% on test 7, During all the mock exams I would describe them as "hard" but to my surprise
I passed a 4 mock tests in a row.

At the exam I wrote down the process charts and formulas. I don't think I used the process chart but did refer to my formulas.

I would say that the actual exam questions are less lengthy than the simulator, allowed me to finish within 3 hours. However, even though I found the questions less lengthy it didn't make picking