fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: How I failed... then how I passed. #StudyTips

How I failed... then how I passed. #StudyTips 5 years 6 months ago #15291

• Mr. Potter, PMP
  • Mr. Potter, PMP's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I'll try to keep it short... I'll try.

THE FAIL
I was originally scheduled to take the 5th Edition exam on Thursday, March 22, 2018 [a few days before the March 26th 6th edition deadline]. I studied from Mid-January to March 21st. There was a huge snowstorm on the eastern coast (NJ/NYC) on March 21st.

On March 22nd, I wake up, fully prepared to pass the 5th Edition exam. The sun was shining, the snow was cleared off of the street, and there were cars and people outside conducting "business as usual". I check my email and I see an email from the exam center stating the center was closed due to the snowstorm. Keep in mind, outside looked like a regular sunny day with melted snow; it actually looked like it snowed four days ago, not last night. So, I immediately hop into panic mode, and start calling PMI to see what my options are, since the 6th Edition begins on March 26th.

I'll skip to the part where there was nothing that could be done, because ALL of the surrounding centers were booked with people scheduled to take the 5th Edition exam before the 6th Edition migration happened on March 26th. So, I basically had to reschedule my exam, and re-study... now for the 6th Edition test. (((Deep Sigh)))

So, I finally schedule the test for June 22nd. I had already taken a few of the 5th Edition simulator tests (months ago) and did pretty well, so I figured I would be fine just taking the exam without signing up for the 6th edition simulator... WRONG!