fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP First Try- Above Target All Areas

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP First Try- Above Target All Areas

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
4 years 10 months ago #17509

Rosemary

's Avatar

Ditto for me. I had exactly the same experience as you except I studied for 3.5 months. Just took it today so I'm still decompressing.
I sweated it out til the bitter end....17 minutes left but my study patterns were same as yours...no PMBOK and no studying ITTO's
Also got above target in all 5
Congratulations
I think you really have to read those situational questions very very closely
5 years 10 months ago #14232

Anonymous

's Avatar

Dear Joseph,
Congratulations on you success and thank you for the book! I will use your lesson learned as a guide for my exam prep. :-)
5 years 10 months ago #14168

Ryan Doherty

I apologize in advance for the length!

TL;DR:
  • I agree with Jojo's experiences taking the practice exams and actual exam. The Simulator exams were harder than the actual exam, but the actual exam was still challenging.
  • There were a few things I did differently than Jojo to prepare. I also had some professional PM experience as a foundation that gave me a headstart.
  • I watched all PrepCast videos, read through each process in the PMBOK, and made 160 notecards to study.
  • I did not memorize the ITTO's; I just became familiar with each.
  • I spent 4-6 hours studying each day over 36 days, took the actual exam on May 9, and passed with AT in all five domains.
  • I would not recommend my approach unless you enjoy studying or have a deadline.
  • Exam strategy: immediately skip long questions, immediately mark then skip formula questions, then revisit all marked/unanswered questions at the end.
Jojo,