fbpx

Reply: Passed PMP on 03/23 - First Try

Name
Your e-mail address will never be displayed on the site.
Subject
Topic History of : Passed PMP on 03/23 - First Try

Max. showing the last 6 posts - (Last post first)
6 years 3 days ago #13765

Simeng Yang

Passed on my first attempt yesterday and below are my take aways:
Study Material:
- Prepcast podcast
- Prepcast simulator
- Rita book (only focused on weak chapters after getting an idea what those are by taking the end of chapter quiz the podcast had)
- HeadFirst (read 2 chapters, found it not detailed enough, good for getting your feet wet and gain an overall idea of the material)
- PMBOK guide (read it for 30 min, got bored and confused and never opened again)
So really, all I used was PM Prepcast products
How I studied:
- Study time 3 months. 1hr each day listening to the podcast for the first month, 20 minutes a week for the second month (really busy and long hours at work), 1-2 hours on the weekends for the last month.
- Flipped through the official guide and found the organization of the guide extremely unintuitive, started researching alternative ways to study
- Found Prepcast, Rita's book and Headfirst to be the 3 recommended product, due to FOMO, I got all three ( you DO NOT NEED to purchase Rita and HeadFirst, they are expensive, Amazon US offers a cheaper rental option on them, you can rent them for 6 months for 60% of the cost of buying)
- I listened to the podcast on my commute to and from work, it's so awesome to have the PPT right there along with listening, I take screen shots of important concepts and formulas on my phone and flipped through them in my photo album MULTIPLE times during the course of my study)