fbpx
Congratulations! Let us know your lessons learned and how our products have helped you prepare.
Please remember that you are not allowed to discuss any specific questions that you encounter on the exam.

TOPIC: Passed PMP exam with Above Target in all domain

Passed PMP exam with Above Target in all domain 6 years 2 months ago #13330

• Danny Gunawan
  • Danny Gunawan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I passed the PMP exam on my first try on Feb 20, 2018 with Above Target in all domain!

It took a lot of discipline, patience, perseverance, self-motivation, and most of all: sacrifices. I studied since late October 2017, so that makes about 4 months of looking at the following resources:
  1. PM PrepCast (thank you Cornelius!!)
  2. Rita's book
  3. PMBOK
  4. Series of videos from Lynda.com
  5. Edward Chungs website
  6. And some PMP apps for referencing

Going back in time, these are what I've observed to work and not work.
During the exam,
Do:
  • Stretch before you begin
  • Visit the restroom and relief yourself (serious advise here)
  • Find ways to relax and briefly forget about the exam, while waiting to begin
Don't:
  • Study, if possible, the day before or day of the exam
  • Be late arriving at the test center, as it can take a while on the road, finding parking, getting to the test center itself

During the study, I find that having a schedule of what and when to study is crucial, especially if you have young children and a full-time job, like me. My typical study time had been early in the morning, during my commute, and late at night. Another key point, study for no more than 1-2 hours per session. That is, no more than 1-2 hours in the morning, 1-2 hours during commute, and 1-2 hours late at night. This will keep your sanity, and those topics in your head.